Workers’ compensation benefits

What are workers' compensation benefits?

Texas Labor Code (TLC) Sections 408.081-408.187

There are four types of workers' compensation benefits:

  • Income benefits (other than impairment income benefits) replace a portion of any wages you lose because of a work-related injury or illness. Income benefits include temporary income benefits (TIBs); impairment income benefits (IIBs); supplemental income benefits (SIBs); and lifetime income benefits (LIBs).
  • Medical benefits benefits pay necessary medical care to treat your work-related injury or illness.
  • Burial benefits pay for some of the deceased employee's funeral expenses to the person who paid the funeral expenses.
  • Death benefits replace a portion of lost family income for eligible family members of employees killed on the job.

Payment of income or death benefits can be made to you or your beneficiary by:

  1. check, or
  2. electronic funds transfer (EFT)

To be eligible for electronic funds transfer, you must be expected to receive benefits for at least eight (8) weeks. To receive payment by electronic funds transfer you or your beneficiary must make the request in writing to the insurance carrier and provide:

  • the name of the financial institution;
  • the type of account (checking or savings);
  • the routing/transit number; and
  • the account number you want benefits electronically transferred to.

-Cited from TDI.TEXAS.GOV.

Back to Top